Why I am Voting for Barack Obama

Like most people, I’m cynical about our current political structure. I think we need a third party in this country and, if we can’t make that a reality, we need to, at the very least, demand more of the two parties in power.

But my cynicism is not what this entry is about. I am writing to share the reason I am voting for Barack Obama. And the overwhelming reason is… wait for it… because he is non-white. There, I said it. I will readily admit this makes me a hypocrite, and I can live with that, but when I think not too long and hard about it, I can’t deny the truth.

Sure, there are other reasons I could give you for why I’m voting for “That One,” and not all of them would be because he’s NOT John McCain and his running mate is NOT Sarah Palin. Some of the reasons include my liking his “ideas” about diplomacy, taxes and health care. I put “ideas” in quotations because, until he acts on them, that’s all they are. That brings me to another reason I’m voting for Barack Obama. He makes me FEEL something. He makes me feel like those “ideas” could become reality. He makes me feel like maybe he does mean what he says and that one day I’ll be able to get rid of my deep-seeded cynicism. His winning the Presidency would certainly go a long way in doing just that.

Since I grew up in the redneck-infested town of Warner Robins, Georgia, race has always been a big issue for me. Let me give you a quick example of why. One day, while walking through the mall parking lot, I passed a group of young, black teenagers. They were hanging around their car, joking around with each other and laughing. As I continued walking to my car, a middle-aged white woman walks past me and says, “Just like a bunch of monkeys, huh? They need to go back to the zoo.” Just because I was white, this woman thought I shared her racist views. I guess she thought we could bond via hate.

I’ll give you one more example of why race resonates so loudly with me. Maybe one day I’ll write more about it, but for now I’ll keep it to one sentence: I once watched in horror as a black friend of mine was beaten repeatedly by the Macon Police, years before anyone heard of Rodney King, and those cops also got away with it.

So, yes, I say without hesitation that the biggest reason I want Barack Obama to be the next President of the United States is that he is non-white. Like Sam Cooke once sang, “It’s been a long time coming, but I know a change is going to come.” That change is going to be a wake-up call for the bigots of this country. The voices on the other end of the line will inform them that, like it or not, we are finally growing together as a country instead of growing apart. It doesn’t mean we won’t still have a long way to go, but it means we will finally be on the right path. Then it’s up to Obama to deliver on what he promises and I sure hope he does.

3 Responses

  1. So, you’re a racist and you admit it. Cool. That’s the first step – admitting the problem.

  2. This is the first time my vote has felt worth something meaningful. I share your sentiment.

  3. So, I had read this earlier and, after letting it soak and mingle with the memory of that “Misconceptions of Obama fuel Republican campaign” video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRqcfqiXCX0), I realized that I now automatically think that anyone who is voting for McCain is a racist. This became very clear when I was driving through Buckhead tonight and saw two cars with McCain stickers on them and thought, “Fucking racists.” My efforts to cut off the van with the McCain sticker were thwarted. But, then I totally pulled ahead of them in another lane and left them in my dust!

    Jesus, this election has taken over my life.

Leave a Reply

